Reaching New Levels

While “going places” sounds nice as a phrase by itself, the “places” in my blog’s name is actually an acronym (see the “About” page for more of an explanation). The “l” stands for “levels”. I’m going to share a brief story about the recent significance of “levels” in my life.

I believe that each and every one of us should constantly strive to reach new levels; new heights. I’ve recently found significance in “levels” as it relates to my physical fitness. For the past two years, I focused heavily on school and work. My legs and knee bothered me due to minor training injuries. During this time I “sidelined” myself in terms of fitness. Now that I have some free time between jobs, I’ve been able to do the things I want to do. Namely, getting out into the beautiful Vermont woods to hike and bike. I’ve consulted a physical therapist, who has provided some minor guidance but more importantly, instilled confidence in me to go out and push myself.

I hike a good amount in the White Mountains of New Hampshire and Green Mountains of Vermont. I’m in pretty good shape and get up and down the mountains quicker than most. The only people who pass me are trail runners. Bounding up and down trails like white-tailed deer, these folks carry almost nothing on them, wear light weight shoes, and ascend 3000 vertical feet like it was an ant hill. I strive to be like that. This is a new personal “level” I’m trying to reach.

This past week I went to Burlington, Vermont to visit friends and decided it was a good opportunity to climb Vermont’s highest peak, Mount Mansfield. After a long night, slow start in the morning, and a series of wrong turns, I pulled into the trailhead at around 3PM. The weather was nothing short of perfect – not a cloud in the sky, 60s and no wind. The hike entailed a 5.5 mile round-trip and 2700 foot vertical ascent. The park ranger said it usually took people five hours. With four hours until sunset (it gets dark earlier in the woods), I knew I’d have to be quick.

I took off up the mountain at a ferocious pace, just short of jogging. I rested only for a few minutes total, to catch my breath and sip water. I ended up making it to the summit in about 1:15, about half the normal time. I generated plenty of time to relax, enjoy the stunning views, take photos, have lunch, drink a beer, and enjoy the company of a nice local couple and their two huskies, who were on the summit at the same time. On the recommendation of the couple, I took a more direct (less mileage), yet much more treacherous route down. The trail literally went straight down off the summit, at first straight down a path of large boulders and flat rock, and for the for rest of the way following a steep, rocky and slippery stream bed. I made it to the car with about twenty minutes to spare before sunset, after running the relatively flat last mile. Notably, my legs felt better after this trying excursion.

Two days after Mansfield, I took on another pretty big hike and also made very fast time. I hate running on pavement but running up a trail interests me. It’s an awesome challenge with many rewards, namely breathtaking views and plenty of peaceful 1-1 time with nature. I feel like I’m unlocking new potential in myself and approaching new levels in physical fitness. While life is always going to have its challenges, everyone has it within themself to reach new levels, not just in terms of physical fitness, but mental fitness, nutrition, your job and career, social or family life. Welcome challenges and generate opportunities. Push yourself to reach new levels in every way possible.

About Brendan Golub

24. Clean energy professional, life-long learner, outdoor enthusiast, traveler, blogger, and amateur photographer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment