One of Earth’s Greatest Treasures

cacao sauce

Do you have an inclination towards chocolate? I personally love dark chocolate and I reach for it often in sparing amounts (yes, I’m lucky to have good self-control!). Recently I discovered something even more delicious than dark chocolate, and healthier too (I thought, how is that possible?) Cacao powder is on one of earth’s greatest treasures. “Cocao powder” differs from “cocoa powder” in that it’s raw and unsweetened. Cacao powder is unadulterated and contains more nutrients than cocoa powder, such as antioxidants, magnesium, iron and fiber. It’s sold mostly at health food stores and online. You might have had it before, possibly in Mexican molé sauce. I’ve been pairing cocao powder with a ton of things, like oatmeal, yogurt, frozen yogurt, and in smoothies. My favorite is cacao sauce. It’s truly spectacular!

Here’s a simple cacao sauce recipe. It’s very quick and easy. Make some for yourself, your family or for entertaining (chocolate-dipped strawberries, perhaps?)

1/3 Cup Cacao Powder
4 Tbsp Coconut Oil
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
3 or 4 Tbsp
1 or 2 tsp water to thin the sauce, if desired
A few shakes of salt

Process all ingredients in a food processor. You can stir it but it won’t mix as well.

This is the recipe referenced but there are many out there. All seem pretty simple and many have as base ingredients cacao powder, maple syrup and, coconut oil. This is the kind of cacao powder I ordered and I’ve been very happy with it thus far.

Enjoy 🙂

About Brendan Golub

24. Clean energy professional, life-long learner, outdoor enthusiast, traveler, blogger, and amateur photographer.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment